Things Guatemalan

I won’t attempt here to fully explain my Guatemala attachment. That will surely come over time, assuming I keep this blogging thing up. Right now, I am actually having trouble not blogging. I suppose it is a result of having kept so many things under wraps for so long. I will soon run out of things to say, so no worry.

Last night, I travelled down the Connector to pick up Luis Argueta at the airport. In my humble opinion, one of the best things about my city is our airport. While it’s massive and massively busy, I find it quite predictable and easily accessible by train. Unfortunately, there is almost nothing else in Atlanta one can say that about. Anyhow, Luis is a film maker and he is coming to Georgia to preview his newest film, Abused: the Postville Raid. http://abusedthepostvilleraid.com

An old high school friend from Ann Arbor knows Luis and given my love of Guatemala, thought it would be a good thing to have him visit campus. Together with other secondary schools and universities in Atlanta that have an interest in Guatemala (along with my favorite consul general), we have partnered with UGA to bring Luis to Georgia. Tonight in Atlanta. Tomorrow in Athens.

I have not yet met a Guatemalan I don’t like and Luis is certainly no exception. (I have to admit I have not yet met any of the Generals from the time of the 30 year civil war – I might have to alter my statement when and if that happens.) He missed his first plane from New York, so we didn’t arrive home until past eleven p.m., a good 30 minutes past my usual bedtime. Nevertheless, we sat around the kitchen well past the witching hour sharing our varied connections to Guatemala, his far deeper then mine of course. Luis first read about Postville in an article written by one of the translators the federal government brought to Iowa to manage the arraignments and trials. He was moved enough to change plans and visit Postville for a few days. A few days became a few weeks, a few weeks now a few years, and one trip became 50 trips between his travels to Iowa and to Guatemala. Life can do that to you. While first trained as a mechanical engineer, Luis has become a story teller extraordinaire. As a president of a liberal arts college, I love to hear such things. I’ll write more after the movie and talk tonight.

This entry was posted in Things Guatemalan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

