I send all my love

My brother Steve found a letter the other day that my dad had written, dated April 16, 2012. It came along with an envelope addressed to Mr. and Mrs. A.F. Schall, 181 South Street, Morristown, NJ. That was his family’s home address growing up. My dad’s parents died long ago, his father the latter to go and he passed almost 35 years ago. My dad begins the letter by apologizing for not writing sooner. “I think of each of you daily,” he shares. I am certain that is true.

My father now believes he is still in the army at the age of 93, never having been discharged. “I have my old uniform and it fits OK, except for the jacket. I get fed three times a day with food that is OK. It is needless for me to train, but I still do it. I sleep in a bunk with ten or twenty others. I do miss each of you and I can’t believe I don’t see you daily. I send all my love to each of you.” Eddy

Heartbreaking. My dad remains a loving son and father to this day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I send all my love

  1. Bill Aitken '64 says:

    Glad you’re in posession of that precious document. So sorry that all of you (you, your Dad, and family) have to go through this. We have been orphans for some time now, all a result of other causes, we were spared dealing with all but the possible beginnings of dementia. Just remember that someone remains alive as long as they remain in someone’s memory, and they exist in the form retained in that memory. I know that you will keep the love there forever. Good luck. Words otherwise fail me.

  2. Amanda Ciaccio says:

    made me tearful…reposted. thanks Larry.

Leave a Reply

