Our health is everything

On the way back to the office from lunch today, I picked up Christian, a young man who broke his neck and back 15 years ago in a car accident. He had just graduated from Georgia Tech with his whole life ahead of him. After a decade of care, he has begun to walk again. A nice gentlemen helped Christian and his walker to my car and off we went to Northside Hospital to see a doctor. Christian was my first Uber rider who joined me in the front seat and also the first one with whom I talked the entire ride.

Christian can’t drive yet and was not sure he would ever be able to. Not being able to drive, Christian shared, took away his independence. That was the hardest thing for him to lose. When we arrived at our destination, I gathered his walker from the trunk and accompanied him into the hospital. Christian told me I’d get a five star rating from him., although he wasn’t sure how much that mattered. I told him it mattered a great deal to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our health is everything

  1. WOW! This Uber Driving experience is becoming much more than you anticipated isn’t it? Well done.

  2. Bill says:

    I’m sure it did, Larry. Quite an adventure you’ve had, isn’t it?!

  3. Didi says:

    This new project is good for your health too! Nice.

  4. ostall says:

    This is the most beautiful story. I look forward to the next UberStory. 🙂

Leave a Reply

